Calvinism and Baptists

Baptists used to be Calvinists, mostly. Now, increasingly, they are again.

Now if only I could persuade the Methodists!

As a Presbyterian, when I think about election, I wind up with a moderate type of what is often called Calvinism, i.e., the five TULIP points. I say “moderate” because I’m more comfortable with the vague language of the Confession of 1967 (§9.09–9.10) than with the certitude of the Westminster Confession (§6.017–6.021), although Westminster is clearly right when it says that election is a “high mystery” to be “handled with special prudence and care.” My favorite formulation is in Question 38 of the Study Catechism: “No one will lost who can be saved.”

Leave a Reply

