She said, ‘Boy, stop it right there, stop it right there, stop it right there!’

Denzel Washington explaining how to get ahead in the world, in a graduation speech at Dillard University:

When I was young and started really making it as an actor, I came and talked to my mother and said, ‘Mom, did you think this was going to happen? I’d be so big and I’ll be able to take care of everybody and I can do this and I can do that.’”

“She said, ‘Boy, stop it right there, stop it right there, stop it right there!” he continued. “She said, ‘If you only knew how many people been praying for you.’

Leave a Reply

